Black Mountain homes and mountain properties in a private NC gated community near Asheville.

There is no shortage of things to do in Black Mountain and the surrounding area. We are blessed with four distinct seasons so you can hike, mountain bike and raft in the summer, zip line at a canopy tour in the spring and fall, and snow ski and tube in the winter. Our surrounding mountains provide a wealth of outdoor activities including drives along the Blue Ridge Parkway. You will never run out of fresh activities in our neighborhood!


Asheville www.Asheville.com
Lake Eden Arts Festival www.theLEAF.com
Black Mountain Center for the Arts www.blackmountainarts.org
Great Smoky Mountains Railroad www.gsmr.com
Flat Rock Playhouse www.flatrockplayhouse.org
Grandfather Mountain www.grandfather.com
Chimney Rock Park www.chimneyrockpark.com
Virtual Tour-Blue Ridge Parkway exploreasheville.com/blue-ridge-parkway
Mt. Mitchell www.americasroof.com/nc.html
The North Carolina Arboretum www.ncarboretum.org
Western North Carolina Nature Center www.wildwnc.org/
The Biltmore Estate www.biltmore.com
Historic Biltmore Village www.biltmorevillage.com
Blue Ridge Parkway Guide www.ncnatural.com
Asheville Theatre www.ashevilletheatre.org
North Carolina Museum of Natural Science www.naturalsciences.org
Forest Discovery Center www.cradleofforestry.com
Foot Travel www.bighike.com
City of Asheville www.ashevillenc.gov
Local Outdoor Calendar www.citizens-times.com
Center for Creative Retirement
UNC-Asheville
*nationally recognized studies center
*offers the program, 'Blue Ridge Naturalist'
with many classes for the outdoor enthusiast
www.unca.edu/ncccr


Area Wineries

Wineries are open to the public with scheduled tours

Green Creek Winery
www.greencreekwinery.com
Rockhouse Vinyards www.rockhousevineyards.com
Shops in Black Mountain and Asheville
Town Hardware and General Store www.townhardware.com
Seven Sisters Gallery www.sevensistersgallery.com
Acoustic Corner www.acoustic-corner.com
McCosh House www.mccoshhouse.com
Song of the Wood www.songofthewood.com
Black Mountian Iron Works www.blackmountainiron.com
Grove Arcade Public Market www.grovearcade.com
The Galleries of Southern Highland Craft Guild www.southernhighlandguild.org
Air Travel

Asheville Regional Airport
Greenville-Spartanburg International
Charlotte Douglas International

www.flyavl.com
www.gspairport.com
www.charmeck.org

Education
Montreat College www.montreat.edu
Warren Wilson College www.warren-wilson.edu
A-B Technical College www.asheville.cc.nc.us/
University of North Carolina-Asheville www.unca.edu
Weather
National Oceanic www.noaa.gov
Road Conditions www.ncdot.org
Alliances
Black Mountain Chamber of Commerce www.blackmountain.org
North Carolina Real Estate Commission www.ncrec.state.nc.us
McDowell County Tourism www.mcdowellnc.org
North Carolina Sierra Club www.sierraclub-nc.org
Southern Appalachian Biodiversity Project www.appalachian.org
Foothills Land Conservancy www.foothillsconservancy.org
NC Clean Water Trust www.cwmtf.net
NC Art

Marcus Thomas

www.marcusthomas.com
Ginger Hueber www.gingerhuebner.com
Swannanoa Valley Conference Centers
Billy Graham's Conference Center www.thecove.org
Lifeway Ridgecrest Conference Center www.ridgecrestconferences.com
YMCA Blue Ridge Assembly www.blueridgeassembly.org
Montreat Conference Center www.montreat.org
Golf

Lake Lure golf and Beach Resort
Black Mountain Golf Course
Mount Mitchell Golf Course
Old Fort Golf Course

www.lakeluregolf.com
(828) 669-2710
(828) 675-5454
(828) 668-4256

Miscellaneous Interests
Not So Big House www.notsobighouse.com
Healthy Homes www.healthhouse.org
Solar Decathlon/2011/Washington DC Appalachian State University's Solar Homestead won the Poeple's Choice Award (PDF)
Rescue pets online www.Petfinder.com